Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Silver borne by Patricia Briggs

Silver borne is the fifth book in the Mercy Thompson series, and the seventh book set in the world shared with the Alpha & Omega series.  This review contains ***SPOILERS*** if you have not read the other books and I highly recommend reading them in the correct order. 

Living as a coyote among werewolves is risky at times, especially when the pack you have rather unceremoniously been thrust into still has major issues with you being there.  As an outsider Mercy lacks an understanding of the subtleties of being a werewolf, and she is way out of her depth when it comes to understanding the mate bond she shares with Adam and what that means about her place in the pack.  To help ease herself into their world Mercy and Adam have been going out on dates, but it soon becomes clear that even on a date she is not safe from the resentment and anger of the pack.  After a very wonky date with Adam she discovers she has even bigger problems - Samuel the man has lost control to Sam the wolf and that means certain death if she can't keep the secret.

As life was not complicated enough someone has decided to target Mercy and the pack.  A bounty hunter is one thing, strange fae are another.  Mercy soon learns that she has something that a fae wants very badly, and they are not afraid of the werewolves and certainly not afraid of Mercy herself.   Mercy may have allies among the fae, but unless she can discover who and what she is fighting that aid wont go very far.  Fighting battles at home with Sam and the pack is exhausting and Mercy has very little energy to spare fighting an enemy she can't even see.  When the stakes are drastically raise Mercy will put her own life on the line to save the ones she loves.

The world of Mercy Thompson is addictive and with each new novel there are more layers that help to round out the complexity of the world and make it even more engaging.  Through Mercy and her "adventures" we learn about the werewolves and how their world works, and we get to learn the "rules" that vampires and werewolves live by.  Binge reading the series has been a real treat because I haven't had to wait around for months waiting for the next book in the series, and because publication dates are a little bit different between the two series I have essentially read some of the books out of the recommended order - remedying that has been a pleasure.  Rereading the series has also allowed me to fill in the gaps in my reviews!

The recommended reading order is:

And to fill in the gaps there are some new (and old) short stories in:
  • Shifting shadows: Stories from the world of Mercy Thompson

If you like this book then try:

Reviewed by Brilla

No comments:

Post a Comment